Portrait of Québec

The province of Québec is characterized by its vast territory covering over 1,600,000 km2 and its unique personality stemming from its majority Francophone population and rich cultural mix. It is the only Canadian province that uses French as its first language.

A modern society, Québec is known for its democratic political system and its public services. The province has a universal, free healthcare system, a public education system accessible to all and a host of social and community services. Its diversified economy is based on natural resource development and keeps pace with information technologies and other cutting-edge sectors.

Québec in brief

  • Population (2016): 8 326 089 inhabitants
  • Population density (2016): 6.4 inhabitants/km2
  • Total area: 1 667 712 km2 (78% land and 22% water)
  • Administrative regions: 17
  • Capital: Québec
  • Largest city: Montréal
  • National holiday: June 24
  • Political system: Parliamentary democracy
  • Nature of the State: Member of the Canadian Confederation
  • Inhabitants called: Quebecers
  • Currency: Canadian dollar
  • Weights and measures: Metric system
  • Time zone, Eastern Standard Time: subtract five hours from UTC
  • Time zone, Daylight Savings Time (from the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November): subtract four hours from UTC

For further information