Québec Public Administration


This page contains information on the following topics:

Québec’s public administration includes all government bodies and members of their staff. The public administration implements policies, orientations and programs determined by the Conseil exécutif (Executive Council), also called the Conseil des ministres (Cabinet). The public administration is subject to the Public Administration Act.

The Ministère du Conseil exécutif and the Secrétariat du Conseil du trésor form, with the ministries and agencies, the administrative machinery of the Québec government: 

  • the Ministère du Conseil exécutif coordinates governmental action
  • the Secrétariat du Conseil du trésor oversees utilization of the financial, human, material and information resources of the State
  • the ministries and agencies carry out policies and State interventions and ensure continuity

Ministère du Conseil exécutif

The Ministère du Conseil exécutif is under the direct authority of the Premier. The primary role of the Ministère is to assist the Cabinet in its functions. It advises ministers as they make decisions and sees to it that the decisions are carried out by the ministries and agencies concerned.

Top of page 

Secrétariat du Conseil du trésor

The Conseil du trésor is a standing Cabinet committee made up of five ministers, including the Chair of the Conseil du trésor. The Conseil du trésor exercises the functions and powers granted to it by the Public Administration Act (chapter A-6.01), by other legislation, or by the government.

The Secrétariat du Conseil du trésor serves as the administrative machinery of the Conseil du trésor. It supports the activities of the Conseil du trésor and assists its Chair in his or her functions. Through its analyses and its recommendations to the Conseil du trésor it ensures optimal and equitable allocation and management of resources as well as sound contract management. It also supports ministries and agencies in these matters.

Top of page 

Departments and agencies

The administrative machinery of Québec consists of approximately 20 ministries, which make up the foundation of government organization.

Certain administrative functions are assigned to autonomous agencies rather than government ministries. These may be corporations, councils, bureaus, boards, commissions or administrative tribunals. Each of these agencies reports to a minister, who is accountable for their management before the National Assembly, subject to judicial and quasi-judicial responsibilities. The size of the agencies varies, from large entities such as Hydro-Québec to councils and committees such as the Comité consultatif du travail et de la main-d'œuvre or the Comité de déontologie policière.

It should be mentioned that the institutions and facilities of the health and education networks are not covered by the Public Administration Act.

Top of page 

For further information

Top of page