Regional Portraits

Abitibi-Témiscamingue (08)

 

Geography and administration

The Abitibi-Témiscamingue region, one of the largest regions in Québec, is located in the far western part of the province. To the north, we find the Nord-du-Québec region, to the south, the Outaouais, to the east the Mauricie, and to the west, the province of Ontario.

Four regional county municipalities (French acronym MRC) include 65 municipalities:

The region is made up of 10 unorganized territories and 4 Indian reserves: Kebaowek, Lac-Simon, Pilogan and Timiskaming.

Rouyn-Noranda is a city with the powers of a regional county municipality. It is one of the region’s most populous cities, alongside Ville-Marie, La Sarre, Amos and Val-d’Or.

For further information

Haut de page 

Agriculture, fisheries and food

The Abitibi-Témiscamingue region has a cold continental climate. However, its agricultural land, made up of clayey plains, is rich and fertile. Despite the significant water reserves of its many lakes and the vast area of arable land, only a small part of the region is used for agriculture.​

Beef production is considered to be the main activity of the region. Other agricultural activities are highly diversified, and include dairy farms, grain farming, vegetable gardening, fodder production, and grazing.

U-pick farms, roadside farm stands and a network of public markets spread across the entire territory contribute to the vitality of the region’s agricultural economy.

The retail sector, restaurant services, and food distribution have a distinctly regional flavour, featuring cheeses and maple and honey products.

For further information

Haut de page 

Economy and employment

Abitibi-Témiscamingue is rich in natural resources. Its agricultural, forestry, mineral and water resources make it a unique region with a booming economy. The regional country municipalities of Abitibi, Abitibi-Ouest and Témiscamingue are clearly rural in character, while its urban areas are made up of the cities of Rouyn-Noranda and Val-d’Or and their surrounding areas.

The processing of raw materials is the basis of the region’s industrial strength and contributes to higher economic activity and employment rates. The region relies on the quality of its wood fiber. In the manufacturing sector, its softwood lumber, pulp and paper, and wood product manufacturing companies are very active on North American markets.

The bottling of quality water from the region, which is distributed internationally, is another notable niche.​

The region is internationally renowned for its deposits of copper, zinc and nickel, and for precious metals such as gold. The presence of a foundry in Abitibi-Témiscamingue is an asset, as is the expertise of the workforce associated with the mining industry.

Economic conditions are favourable in the service sector, which is positively impacted by activity in the goods-producing sector. Such conditions are a boost to professional services, trade, and transportation businesses. The region’s teaching and research services, engineering services, construction companies, and manufacturing sector (metals, plastic, etc.) have won international recognition.

Major hydroelectric projects during the 1960s and 1970s contributed to regional development with the installation of hydro and thermal power plants. This sector generates many jobs, especially in the area of electricity distribution.

For further information

Haut de page 

Tourism, recreation and culture

The Abitibi-Témiscamingue region, the traditional territory of the Algonquin and Cree nations, was settled by Europeans in the late 19th century. A place of historical trade between European fur traders and Algonquin, this vast resource-rich region also hosted the first gold prospectors in the early 20th century.

Outdoor enthusiasts are spoiled by the vastness and generous nature of this territory which offers recreational activities during every season. Activities related to the observation and interpretation of nature, as well as hunting and fishing, have many followers and generate significant economic benefits. Access is facilitated by the region’s numerous forest roads and snowmobile trails.

The region boasts an impressive vocational, college and university education network. The Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue has been welcoming foreign students for 20 years.

The cultural industry is flourishing, as evidenced by its many festivals and events, such as the Emerging Music Festival, the Foire gourmande de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue et du Nord-Est ontarien (a food lovers’ fair), and the Festival du cinéma international en Abitibi-Témiscamingue (movie festival). A number of tourist attractions will be of interest to visitors, including the Abitibi-Témiscamingue Mineralogical Museum; the Site patrimonial Cité de l’Or / Village minier de Bourlamaque (historical sites); and the Parc-Aventure Joannès (adventure park), in the Rouyn-Noranda area.

For further information

Haut de page 

​​​​​​​​

Portrait des régions

Abitibi-Témiscamingue (08)

 

Géographie et administration

La région de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue, une des plus vastes régions du Québec, se situe à l’extrême ouest de la province. On trouve au nord la région du Nord-du-Québec, au sud l’Outaouais, à l’est la Mauricie et à l’ouest l’Ontario.

Quatre municipalités régionales de comté (MRC) se partagent 65 municipalités :

La région est constituée de 10 territoires non organisés et de quatre réserves indiennes : Kebaowek, Lac-Simon, Pikogan et Timiskaming.

Rouyn-Noranda est une ville qui a les compétences d’une municipalité régionale de comté. Elle fait partie des villes les plus populeuses, au même titre que Ville-Marie, La Sarre, Amos et Val-d’Or.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page

Agriculture, pêcheries et alimentation

La région de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue jouit d’un climat de type continental froid. Néanmoins, les terres agricoles sont riches et fertiles grâce aux plaines argileuses. Malgré les importantes réserves d’eau de ses nombreux lacs et la grande superficie de sols cultivables, une faible partie de la région est consacrée à l’agriculture.

Les activités agricoles de la région sont très diversifiées : fermes bovines et laitières, culture des céréales, horticulture maraîchère, fourrage et pâturage.

La production bovine est considérée comme l’activité principale de la région. Elle fait partie du créneau d’excellence « Agriculture nordique axée sur la production bovine ».

L’autocueillette, les kiosques à la ferme et un réseau de marchés publics bien répartis sur le territoire contribuent à la vitalité de l’économie agricole de la région.

Le commerce de détail, la restauration et la distribution alimentaire sont axés sur la mise en valeur des saveurs régionales comme les fromages et les produits de l’acériculture et de l’apiculture.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page

Économie et emploi

L’Abitibi-Témiscamingue regorge de ressources naturelles. Ses richesses agricoles, forestières, minérales et hydriques en font une région unique avec une économie en plein essor. Les municipalités régionales de comté de l’Abitibi, de l’Abitibi-Ouest et de Témiscamingue se distinguent par leur caractère rural, tandis que les zones urbaines sont constituées des villes de Rouyn-Noranda et de Val-d’Or et de leurs alentours.

La transformation des matières premières engendre une vigueur industrielle et contribue à un taux d’activité et un taux d’emploi des plus élevés. La région mise sur la qualité de sa fibre de bois. Dans le secteur manufacturier, les entreprises de bois de sciage, des pâtes et papiers et de la fabrication de produits en bois sont très actives sur les marchés de l’Amérique du Nord.

La région est réputée internationalement pour ses gisements de cuivre, de zinc et de nickel, et ses métaux précieux comme l’or. La présence d’une fonderie en Abitibi-Témiscamingue représente un atout, de même que l’expertise de la main-d’œuvre liée à l’industrie minière.

L’embouteillage d’une eau de qualité, provenant des nombreux lacs de la région et distribuée à l’échelle internationale, représente un autre créneau d’excellence en pleine croissance.

Les grands projets hydroélectriques durant les années 1960 et 1970 ont contribué au développement régional avec l’installation de centrales hydroélectriques et de centrales thermiques. Ce secteur génère de nombreux emplois, surtout dans la distribution de l’électricité.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page

Tourisme, culture et loisirs

La région de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue, territoire traditionnel des nations algonquines et cries, a été colonisée par les Européens à la fin du XIXe siècle. Lieu d’échange historique entre les marchands de fourrures européens et les Algonquins, cette vaste région riche en ressources naturelles a également accueilli au début du XXe siècle les premiers chercheurs d’or.

Les amateurs de plein air sont choyés par l’immensité et la nature généreuse de ce territoire offrant des activités récréatives en toute saison. Les activités liées à l’observation et à l’interprétation de la nature ainsi que la chasse et la pêche comptent de nombreux adeptes et génèrent d’importantes retombées économiques. Les accès sont facilités par la présence de nombreux chemins forestiers et de sentiers de motoneige.

Le réseau d’enseignement professionnel, collégial et universitaire de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue est impressionnant. L’Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue accueille des étudiantes et des étudiants étrangers depuis 20 ans.

L’industrie culturelle y est florissante, comme en témoignent les nombreux festivals et événements, tels le Festival de musique émergente, la Foire gourmande de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue et du Nord-Est ontarien et le Festival du cinéma international en Abitibi-Témiscamingue. Les attraits touristiques suivants sauront intéresser les visiteurs : le Musée minéralogique de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue, le Site patrimonial Cité de l’Or / Village minier de Bourlamaque et le Parc-Aventure Joannès, dans le territoire de Rouyn-Noranda.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page