Regional Portraits

Bas-Saint-Laurent (01)

 

Geography and administration

The Bas-Saint-Laurent region is located on the south shore of the estuary of the Fleuve Saint-Laurent. In the north, it stretches from La Pocatière to Méchins. To the south, it extends to the borders of New Brunswick and Maine (United States).

Bas-Saint-Laurent includes 114 municipalities, divided into 8 regional county municipalities (French acronym MRC):

The region also includes 16 areas that are not part of any regional county municipality and two Indian reserves: Cacouna and Whitworth.

The population is concentrated mainly in Rimouski, the largest city in the region, but also in Rivière-du-Loup, Matane, Mont-Joli and Amqui.

For further information

Haut de page 

Agriculture, fisheries and food

The Bas-Saint-Laurent region benefits from natural conditions such as a cool, moist climate and good quality water. The low cost of agricultural land is also an advantage. The region can rely on resources available in the areas of innovation, training, and consulting to promote the development of the bio-food industry.

The majority of Bas-Saint-Laurent agriculture businesses specialize in livestock production, mainly in the dairy, bovine, swine and ovine areas. Regarding crops, sugar maple production ranks first both in terms of the number of companies as well as for the profits it generates. The region has a high number of certified organic operations in the dairy and maple product industries.

The region is characterized by a diversification of production and agricultural activities. This is the case for cereal and oilseed crops, for the horticultural sector, as well as for the emerging organic pork production industry.

The region has many small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) specializing in food processing, such as cheese shops, delis and bakeries. Meanwhile, its large processing enterprises mainly specialize in animal slaughtering, pork cutting and seafood processing.

For further information

Haut de page 

Economy and employment

The Bas-Saint-Laurent manufacturing sector features dynamic industries such as food and beverage manufacturing, industrial metal production, and wood product manufacturing. While it is still important in terms of production, the primary sector, particularly composed of the agriculture and forestry sectors, has seen a marked decrease in volume of employment in the last 15 years, while, for its part, the services sector has experienced a relatively large increase.

Many small and medium-sized businesses show signs of strength and contribute to economic growth in the region. A flair for innovation and research and development has resulted in an advantageous position regionally, nationally and even internationally, particularly in the following niches of excellence:

  • Eco-construction
  • Marine resources, sciences and technologies
  • Development of peat and agri-environmental technologies

For further information

Haut de page 

Tourism, recreation and culture

The Bas-Saint-Laurent, a vast territory along the river, offers an impressive array of tourist attractions, especially due to its many national parks and wildlife reserves.

Some 30 celebrations and festivals, of local or international scope, mark the region’s yearly calendar. Festival-goers can discover the talent of artists from here and elsewhere at events such as the Festi Jazz international de Rimouski, the Concerts aux îles du Bic festival, and the Festival international de cinéma jeunesse de Rimouski (youth cinema).

The region abounds with businesses in the cultural sector and with heritage sites, such as the Île Verte Lighthouse, which is the oldest lighthouse on the Fleuve Saint-Laurent, the Canadian National Railway Station of Amqui, and the Maison hantée (haunted house) de Notre-Dame-des-Neiges.

The Bas du fleuve, as it is frequently called, is home to more than 500 organizations offering cultural products, presenting performances, and managing publishing houses or film and video production companies, and also features museums, artists' centres, bookstores and public libraries.

For further information

 

Haut de page 
​​​

Portrait des régions

Bas-Saint-Laurent (01)

 

Géographie et administration

La région du Bas-Saint-Laurent se trouve sur la rive sud de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent. Au nord, elle s’étend de La Pocatière à Les Méchins. Au sud, elle atteint les frontières du Nouveau-Brunswick et du Maine (États-Unis).

Le Bas-Saint–Laurent compte 114 municipalités regroupées dans huit municipalités régionales de comté (MRC) :

La région compte 16 territoires hors MRC et 2 réserves indiennes, Cacouna et Whitworth.

La population est concentrée principalement à Rimouski, plus importante ville de la région, mais aussi à Rivière-du-Loup, Matane, Mont-Joli et Amqui.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page 

Agriculture, pêcheries et alimentation

La région du Bas-Saint-Laurent peut compter sur des conditions naturelles telles que le climat frais et humide, la qualité de l’eau et le faible coût des terres agricoles. Elle peut tabler sur les ressources disponibles dans les domaines de l’innovation, de la formation et de l’expertise-conseil afin de favoriser le développement de l’industrie bioalimentaire.

La majorité des entreprises agricoles bas-laurentiennes se spécialisent en production animale, principalement en productions laitière, bovine, porcine et ovine. En ce qui a trait à la production végétale, l’acériculture y occupe la première place tant pour le nombre d’entreprise que pour les recettes monétaires qu’elle génère. La région compte un nombre élevé d’exploitations certifiées biologiques dans les secteurs laitier et acéricole.

On observe une diversification des productions et des activités agricoles. C’est le cas pour les cultures de céréales et d’oléagineux, pour le secteur horticole ainsi que pour la production porcine biologique, qui fait son apparition.

La région compte de nombreuses PME (petites et moyennes entreprises) en transformation alimentaire telles que des fromageries, des charcuteries et des établissements de boulangerie et de pâtisserie. Quant aux grandes entreprises de transformation, elles se spécialisent principalement dans l’abattage d’animaux, la découpe de viande de porc et la transformation de produits marins.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page 

Économie et emploi

Le secteur manufacturier bas-laurentien compte sur des industries dynamiques telles la fabrication d’aliments et de boissons, la fabrication métallique industrielle et la fabrication de produits en bois. Même s’il est encore important en termes de production, le secteur primaire composé notamment de l’agriculture et de la foresterie, a connu une diminution marquée de son volume d’emploi lors des 15 dernières années. Alors que de son côté, le secteur des services a connu une augmentation relativement importante.

De nombreuses entreprises, de petite et de moyenne taille, font preuve de vigueur et contribuent à la croissance économique de la région. Le sens de l'innovation et la Recherche et Développement se traduisent par un positionnement avantageux régionalement, nationalement et même internationalement, notamment dans les créneaux d’excellence :

  • Écoconstruction
  • Ressources, sciences et technologies marines
  • Valorisation de la ourbe et des technologies agroenvironnementales

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page 

Tourisme, loisirs et culture

Le Bas-Saint-Laurent, vaste territoire longeant le fleuve, offre une palette d’attraits touristiques diversifiée, notamment grâce aux nombreux parcs nationaux et réserves fauniques.

Une trentaine de fêtes et festivals, d’envergure locale ou internationale, viennent ponctuer le calendrier annuel de la région. Par exemple, le Festi Jazz international de Rimouski, le Festival Concerts aux Îles du Bic et le Festival international de cinéma jeunesse de Rimouski permettent aux festivaliers de découvrir le talent des artistes d’ici et d’ailleurs.

La région regorge d’entreprises et d'entités à vocation culturelle où les lieux patrimoniaux pullulent, comme le Phare de Métis-sur-Mer de l’Isle Verte qui est le plus ancien phare sur le Saint-Laurent, la Gare du Canadien National d’Amqui ou la Maison hantée de Notre-Dame-des-Neiges.

Le Bas du fleuve comme on le nomme fréquemment, c’est plus de 500 organismes offrant des produits culturels, diffusant des spectacles, dirigeant des maisons d’édition ou de production cinématographique et vidéo, ainsi que des institutions muséales, des centres d’artistes, des librairies et des bibliothèquespubliques.

Répertoire des médias régionaux

La liste de tous les médias de la région n’est plus accessible dans Portail Québec. Pour obtenir les coordonnées d’un média en particulier, nous vous suggérons de faire une recherche dans votre moteur de recherche préféré, comme Google.

Par contre, si vous recherchez un média communautaire, vous pouvez visiter le site du ministère de la Culture et des Communications qui publie la Liste des médias communautaires reconnus par le Ministère pour chacune des régions du Québec.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page 
​​​