Sustainable Development

 

This page contains information on the following topics:

Québec’s shift to sustainable development centres around a statute, 16 guiding principles, monitoring measures, indicators and a comprehensive strategy that guide each government department and agency in developing and implementing its sustainable development action plan.

Québec’s sustainable development approach is a horizontal, large-scale project distinguished mainly by how it targets concerted government action. It is grounded in a sustained commitment by numerous Québec institutions for more than 20 years and a well-structured approach implemented in 2004.

The Sustainable Development Act

The purpose of the Sustainable Development Act, assented to on April 19, 2006, is to establish a new management framework for all Québec government departments and agencies to ensure that their powers and responsibilities are exercised in the pursuit of sustainable development.

The Act gives Québec its own definition of sustainable development and sets out 16 principles that the public service must take into account when framing its actions. It sets markers for implementing a government sustainable development strategy based on guidelines and objectives that give due consideration to the environmental (life environment), social (lifestyle) and economic (standard of living) aspects of development.

Top of page 

The Government Sustainable Development Strategy 2015-2020

In November 2015, the Premier of Québec tabled the Government Sustainable Development Strategy 2015-2020 in the National Assembly. In accordance with the Sustainable Development Act, the Strategy was submitted to public consultations in the form of parliamentary committee hearings at the beginning of 2015.

The Strategy is a key element of the Sustainable Development Act. It builds on the results of the first government strategy, which ran from 2008-2014, as well as the observations and findings of two reports: one on the application of the Sustainable Development Act and one on the status of sustainable development in Québec.

The Government Sustainable Development Strategy 2015-2020 is the reference framework for the government’s sustainable development initiative. It defines the government’s vision and objectives in respect of sustainable development, the main means of implementation and monitoring measures. Six initiatives have been implemented to catalyze the strengths of several departments in order to achieve concrete objectives in the short term.

Top of page 

For further information

Top of page 
​​​​

Développement durable

 

Voici le contenu dont vous pourrez prendre connaissance dans cette page :

Le Québec a pris le virage du développement durable en orientant sa démarche autour d’une loi, de 16 principes, de mesures de suivi, d’indicateurs et d’une stratégie globale qui guide chacun de ses ministères et organismes dans la réalisation de leur plan d’action de développement durable.

La démarche gouvernementale de développement durable du Québec est un projet horizontal de grande envergure qui se distingue, notamment, par des actions gouvernementales concertées. Elle résulte de l’engagement soutenu de nombreuses institutions québécoises depuis plus d’une vingtaine d’années et d’une démarche structurée mise en œuvre en 2004.

La Loi sur le développement durable

La Loi sur le développement durable, sanctionnée le 19 avril 2006, vise à instaurer un nouveau cadre de gestion pour tous les ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Québec. Ce cadre commun leur permet de mieux intégrer la recherche d’un développement durable dans l’exercice de leurs pouvoirs et responsabilités.

La Loi donne au Québec sa propre définition du développement durable et détermine 16 principes que l’administration publique doit prendre en compte dans ses interventions. Elle balise la réalisation d’une stratégie gouvernementale de développement durable axée sur des orientations et des objectifs qui favorisent la considération des dimensions environnementale (milieu de vie), sociale (mode de vie) et économique (niveau de vie) du développement.

Haut de page 

La Stratégie gouvernementale de développement durable révisée 2015-2020

En novembre 2015, le premier ministre du Québec a déposé à l’Assemblée nationale la Stratégie gouvernementale de développement durable révisée 2015-2020. En conformité avec la Loi sur le développement durable, la Stratégie 2015-2020 a fait l’objet d’une consultation publique dans le cadre d’une commission parlementaire tenue au début de l’année 2015.​

La Stratégie est un élément clé de la Loi sur le développement durable. Elle s’appuie sur les résultats de la première stratégie gouvernementale, qui couvrait la période de 2008 à 2014, et tient compte des observations et constats de deux rapports; un premier sur l’application de la Loi sur le développement durable et un second sur l’état du développement durable au Québec.

La Stratégie 2015-2020 constitue le cadre de référence de la démarche gouvernementale relativement au développement durable. Elle décrit la vision et les objectifs gouvernementaux en matière de développement durable, leurs principaux mécanismes de mise en œuvre et les mesures permettant d’assurer leur suivi. Six chantiers ont également été mis sur pied afin de catalyser les forces de plusieurs ministères pour atteindre des objectifs concrets à court terme.

Haut de page 

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page 
​​​​