Administrative Divisions

 

This page contains information on the following topics:

Québec’s territory is divided into administrative regions. It also includes local municipalities, which can be part of an agglomeration or be divided into boroughs. At the supralocal level, it includes regional county municipalities, metropolitan communities, and the Kativik Regional Government. Special municipal plans are provided for and mainly target the northern villages, the Cree villages and the Naskapi village, the Kativik Regional Government, and the Eeyou Istchee James Bay Regional Government.

The Ministère des Affaires municipales et de l’Occupation du territoire is primarily responsible for municipal organization.

Regional organization

Québec is divided into administrative regions. This territorial division serves, notably, as a framework for the organization of the activities and interventions of different ministries and government organizations. The administrative regions are defined by government decree, particularly on the basis of their characteristics and their homogeneity in terms of geography and natural resources, demography, and their economy.

Top of page 

Local municipal organization

The local level of the municipal organization includes local municipalities and in certain cases, agglomerations. The local authority makes decisions on municipal policies and priorities and manages municipal operations.

Local municipalities

A local municipality consists of a territory and its inhabitants and taxpayers. The municipality is administered by a council made up of a mayor and councillors, all elected from the territory's population. The number of councillors varies by municipality. The municipality’s mandate is to meet the needs of the community it serves in keeping with the budget it administers. The municipal council’s role is to ensure that services meet the needs of the community.

Several acts govern municipal operations and activities. The Cities and Towns Act applies to all municipalities with city status and a few others. The Municipal Code of Québec is the cornerstone legislation for other municipalities in Québec that were originally rural in character. For its part, the Municipal Powers Act groups together the municipal powers enumerated under the Cities and Towns Act and the Municipal Code of Québec.

Divisions into boroughs

Municipal tasks that are best suited for small communities are assigned to the councils of these boroughs. The tasks vary from one municipality to another and also from one borough to another. The role of the borough council is, notably, to

  • administer certain local services
  • consult the community on land-use bylaws
  • make recommendations for the borough at municipal council meetings

Agglomerations

An agglomeration is a territory including a certain number of linked municipalities, among which there is a central municipality. Only the central municipality may act with respect to agglomeration jurisdictions, which are jurisdictions of common interest. To this end, it has jurisdiction not only over its own territory but also over the territory of any other linked municipality. To exercise these various jurisdictions, the central municipality has an urban agglomeration council composed of representatives from the other linked municipalities of the agglomeration.

Northern villages

A northern village municipality has essentially the same powers and jurisdiction as other local municipalities. However, some elements set them apart, particularly in terms of elections, taxation and municipal staff.

The northern villages of Quebec are governed by the Act respecting Northern villages and the Kativik Regional Government.

The Cree villages and the Naskapi village

A Cree village or the Naskapi village, constituted for the municipal management of land of category IB, has essentially the same powers and jurisdiction as other local municipalities; however, some elements set these villages apart. It is worth noting in this regard that the Cree and Naskapi communities are located on land of category IA of federal jurisdiction and are not part of the municipalities. This categorisation as IA and IB land stems from the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement.

Eeyou Istchee James Bay Regional Government

The Eeyou Istchee James Bay Regional Government is a municipal organization governed by the Cities and Towns Act. It acts as a local municipality on its territory and can declare its jurisdiction in fields under the purview of a regional county municipality.

The counsel of the Regional Government is composed in equal parts by members of the Grand Council of the Cree Nation Government as well as by representatives of the municipalities within its territory (Chapais, Chibougamau, Lebel-sur-Quévillon, and Matagami) and residents of its territory.

Top of page 

Supralocal Municipal Organization

The supralocal organization deals with issues that are under local jurisdiction but require the cooperation of neighbouring municipalities. The supralocal level consists of regional county municipalities (RCMs), metropolitan communities, and one regional government.

Regional county municipalities and metropolitan communities were created to facilitate the pooling of services and the management of regional decisions that affect a number of municipalities.

Regional County Municipalities

A regional county municipality consists of municipalities of different sizes and may include territory that is not a local municipality, known as “unorganized territory.” A regional county municipality assumes several responsibilities and jurisdictions, including urban planning and development, regional watercourse management, and the preparation of property assessment rolls.

Metropolitan communities

Metropolitan communities are planning, coordinating and funding bodies. Québec has the Montreal Metropolitan Community (MMC) and the Québec Metropolitan Community (QMC). Their jurisdictions and powers are granted to each by the Act respecting the Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal and the Act respecting the Communauté métropolitaine de Québec.

The Kativik Regional Government

The Kativik Regional Government (KRG) presides over people living north of the 55th parallel, with the exception of a Cree community. The KRG is governed by a council composed of representatives and elected municipal officials, appointed by each northern Village and by the Naskapi Nation of Kawawachikamach. The KRG’s special status gives it distinct powers. It is responsible for local administration, police, transportation, communications, and also workforce training and administration.

Top of page 

For further information

Top of page

Divisions administratives

 

Voici le contenu dont vous pourrez prendre connaissance dans cette page :

Le territoire québécois est divisé en régions administratives. Il comprend aussi les municipalités locales, qui peuvent faire partie d’une agglomération ou être divisées en arrondissements. À l’échelle supralocale, il comprend les municipalités régionales de comté, les communautés métropolitaines et l’Administration régionale Kativik. Des régimes municipaux particuliers sont prévus et visent principalement les villages nordiques, les villages cris et le village naskapi, l’Administration régionale Kativik et le Gouvernement régional d’Eeyou Istchee Baie-James.

Le ministère des Affaires municipales et de l’Occupation du territoire est le principal responsable de l’organisation municipale.

Organisation régionale

Le Québec est divisé en régions administratives. Ce découpage territorial sert, entre autres, de cadre à l’organisation des activités et des interventions des différents ministères et organismes gouvernementaux. Les régions administratives sont définies par décret du gouvernement, sur la base notamment de leurs particularités et de leur homogénéité aux plans de la géographie et des ressources naturelles, de la démographie et de leur économie.

Haut de page 

Organisation municipale locale

Le palier local de l’organisation municipale comprend les municipalités locales et, dans certains cas, les agglomérations. Le pouvoir local prend les décisions sur les orientations et les priorités de la municipalité et en administre les affaires.

Municipalités locales

Une municipalité locale est formée d’un territoire et des habitants et contribuables de celui-ci. Elle est dirigée par un conseil composé d’un maire et de conseillers et conseillères, tous élus parmi la population du territoire. Le nombre de conseillers et conseillères varie selon les municipalités. La municipalité a le mandat de répondre aux besoins de ses habitants dans la limite du budget qu’elle administre. Le rôle du conseil municipal est de s’assurer que les services offerts répondent aux besoins de la communauté.

Plusieurs lois régissent le fonctionnement et les activités des municipalités. La Loi sur les cités et villes s’applique à toutes les municipalités qui portent la désignation de villes ainsi qu’à quelques autres. Le Code municipal du Québec est une loi fondamentale pour les autres municipalités du Québec qui avaient, à l’origine, un caractère rural. Quant à elle, la Loi sur les compétences municipales regroupe les compétences des municipalités dont traitaient la Loi sur les cités et villes et le Code municipal du Québec.

Villages nordiques

Une municipalité de village nordique a essentiellement les mêmes pouvoirs et compétences que les autres municipalités locales. Par contre, certains éléments les distinguent, notamment au chapitre des élections, de la fiscalité et du personnel municipal.

Les villages nordiques du Québec sont régis par la Loi sur les villages nordiques et l’Administration régionale Kativik.

Les villages cris et le village naskapi

Une municipalité de village cri ou de village naskapi, constituée aux fins de la gestion municipale des terres de catégorie IB, a essentiellement les mêmes pouvoirs et compétences que les autres municipalités locales, à quelques différences près. Notons toutefois que les communautés cries et naskapie sont installées sur des terres de catégorie IA, de compétence fédérale, ne faisant pas partie de municipalités. Cette catégorisation en terres IA et IB découle de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois.

Divisions en arrondissements

Certaines fonctions municipales qui sont plus faciles à exercer sur un territoire réduit sont déléguées aux conseils de ces arrondissements. Ces fonctions varient d’une municipalité à l’autre et aussi d’un arrondissement à l’autre. Le rôle du conseil d’arrondissement consiste notamment :

  • à administrer certains services locaux;
  • à consulter la communauté sur les règlements d’urbanisme;
  • à faire des recommandations pour l’arrondissement au conseil municipal.

Agglomérations

Une agglomération est un territoire comprenant celui d’un certain nombre de municipalités liées, parmi lesquelles se trouve une municipalité centrale. Seule la municipalité centrale peut agir à l’égard des compétences d’agglomération, qui sont des compétences d’intérêt commun. À cette fin, elle a compétence non seulement sur son propre territoire, mais aussi sur celui de toute autre municipalité liée. Pour exercer ces compétences, la municipalité centrale a un conseil d’agglomération formé de représentants de toutes les municipalités liées.

Le Gouvernement régional d’Eeyou Istchee Baie-James

Le Gouvernement régional d’Eeyou Istchee Baie-James est un organisme municipal régi par la Loi sur les cités et villes. Il agit à titre de municipalité locale sur son territoire et peut déclarer sa compétence à l’égard des domaines de compétence relevant d’une municipalité régionale de comté.

Le conseil du Gouvernement régional est formé à parité par des membres du conseil du Gouvernement de la nation crie ainsi que par des représentants des municipalités enclavées dans son territoire (Chapais, Chibougamau, Lebel-sur-Quévillon, Matagami) et des résidants de son territoire.

Haut de page 

Organisation municipale supralocale

L’organisation supralocale s’occupe de certaines questions qui, bien qu’il s’agisse de compétence locale, commandent la concertation entre des municipalités dont les territoires sont voisins. Le palier supralocal comprend les municipalités régionales de comté, les communautés métropolitaines et une administration régionale.

Les municipalités régionales de comté et les communautés métropolitaines ont été créées pour faciliter la mise en commun des services et la gestion des décisions régionales qui ont une incidence sur plusieurs municipalités.

Municipalités régionales de comté

La municipalité régionale de comté regroupe des municipalités de différentes tailles et peut comprendre un territoire qui n’est pas une municipalité locale et que l’on nomme « territoire non organisé ». La municipalité régionale de comté assume plusieurs responsabilités ou compétences, notamment l’aménagement et l’urbanisme, la gestion des cours d’eau régionaux ou la préparation des rôles d’évaluation foncière.

Communautés métropolitaines

Les communautés métropolitaines sont des instances de planification, de coordination et de financement. Au Québec, on compte la Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal et la Communauté métropolitaine de Québec. Leurs compétences et leurs pouvoirs sont conférés à chacune par la Loi sur la Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal et la Loi sur la Communauté métropolitaine de Québec.

Administration régionale Kativik

L’Administration régionale Kativik touche les habitants du territoire situé au nord du 55e parallèle, à l’exception d’une communauté crie. L’Administration régionale Kativik est dirigée par un conseil composé de représentants et d’élus municipaux, nommés par chacun des villages nordiques et par la nation naskapie de Kawawachikamach. En raison de son statut spécial, l’Administration régionale Kativik possède des pouvoirs particuliers. Elle est ainsi responsable de l’administration locale, de la police, des transports, des communications ainsi que de la formation et de l’utilisation de la main-d’œuvre.

Haut de page 

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page