Flag and Emblems of Québec

 

This page contains information on the following topics:

Québec’s national emblems recall the history of the province. They affirm the French identity and origin of the majority of the population and evoke the ties between Québec and Great Britain.

Flag

The Fleurdelisé is a reflection of our history in America and Québec’s most iconic symbol. It is flown over every public administration building.

Top of page 

Coat of arms

The coat of arms reflects Québec’s political history. The gold fleurs-de-lis on a blue background represent the French regime. The leopard on a red background evokes the British regime. The sprig of maple leaves symbolizes pre-Confederation Canada.

Top of page 

Motto

The motto “Je me souviens” (I remember) is attributed to architect Eugène-Étienne Taché (1836-1912). Inscribed above the main door of the Parliament Building, the motto summarizes the architect’s intentions: I remember... all that this façade recalls. He decorated the façade of the Parliament Building with depictions of various figures in Québec history: Amerindians, explorers, missionaries, soldiers and public administrators from the French and British regimes.

Top of page 

Emblems

The arboreal emblem of Québec is the yellow birch (Betula alleghaniensis Britton).

The floral emblem of Québec is the blue flag (Iris versicolor L.).

The avian emblem of Québec is the snowy owl (Nyctea scandiaca L.).

Top of page 

Representative objects

The mission of Les Publications du Québec is to publish and market a wide range of products for government departments and agencies: Québec flag and pins, books for the general public, specialized books, and so forth.

Top of page 

For further information

Top of page

Drapeau et symboles nationaux

Les symboles nationaux québécois rappellent l’histoire de la province de Québec. Ils affirment l’identité et l’origine française de la majorité de la population et évoquent les liens du Québec avec la Grande-Bretagne.

Drapeau

Le fleurdelisé, reflet de notre histoire en Amérique, figure au premier rang des symboles du Québec. Il flotte sur tous les bâtiments de l’administration publique.

Armoiries

Les armoiries traduisent l'histoire politique du Québec. Les fleurs de lis or sur fond bleu représentent le régime français. Le léopard or sur fond rouge évoque le régime britannique. Le rameau de feuilles d’érable symbolise la période canadienne d’avant la Confédération.

Devise

La devise « Je me souviens » est attribuable à l’architecte Eugène-Étienne Taché (1836-1912). Sa décoration de la façade de l'hôtel du Parlement illustre différents personnages de l'histoire du Québec, Amérindiens, explorateurs, missionnaires, militaires et administrateurs publics des régimes français et anglais. La devise placée au-dessus de la porte principale résume les intentions de l'architecte : Je me souviens... de tout ce que cette façade rappelle.

Emblèmes

Le bouleau jaune connu scientifiquement sous le nom latin Betula alleghaniensis Britton est l’arbre emblématique du Québec.
L'iris versicolore connu scientifiquement sous le nom latin Iris versicolor Linné est la fleur emblématique du Québec.
Le harfang des neiges connu scientifiquement sous le nom latin Nyctea scandiaca (Linné) est l'oiseau emblématique du Québec.

Objets représentatifs

Les Publications du Québec ont pour mission d'éditer et de commercialiser une grande variété de produits des ministères et organismes gouvernementaux : drapeau à l'effigie du Québec, épinglettes, livres grand public et spécialisés, etc.

Pour en savoir plus