Economy

 

This page contains information on the following topics:

Québec’s gross domestic product (GDP) is approximately CAD$376 billion and its per capita GDP is $45,511. The economy is dominated by the services sector, which produces over 75% of all goods and services. Numerous economic assets contribute to Québec’s growth:

  • abundant natural resources
  • hydroelectric power at relatively low production costs
  • a strategic geographical situation
  • a highly educated and skilled workforce
  • innovative and dynamic R&D as shown by excellence in advanced technologies
  • a capacity to export products across the world

Québec’s economy is also highly diversified, due in particular to the numerous advantages afforded by its physical geography. Each of its 17 administrative regions offers at least one special feature, thus helping to enhance the influence and reputation of its economy.

Natural resource development

Forests

Every Quebecer derives benefits from forest resources, be it in the form of wildlife, plants, water or wood. In addition to forest management and timber harvesting activities related to wood processing, forests are used for a wide range of recreational and educational activities, such as fishing, hunting and nature observation.

Forests are a key driver of Québec’s regional economies. The forest industry, in particular timber harvesting, wood product manufacturing and paper production, is a major pillar of the Québec economy. With over 400 primary processing plants across the regions, the industry generates approximately 80,000 direct jobs in forestry and wood processing. Over 250 Québec municipalities reap significant benefits from forestry activities.

The development of new materials, many of them energy-efficient, also contributes to the excellent reputation of the Québec forest industry.

Mines

Its abundant mines make Québec one of the world’s leading producers of iron, zinc, nickel, silver and gold. Québec also extracts non-metallic minerals, including industrial minerals and construction materials. The industrial minerals extracted in Québec are chrysotile, graphite, ilmenite (titanium ore), mica, salt, silica, sulfur, steatite and peat. The major construction materials are limestone, cement, industrial stone, clay products, sand and gravel, which are sold primarily in Québec.

The three main mining regions in the province are Abitibi-Témiscamingue (gold, silver, zinc, copper), Côte-Nord (iron) and Nord-du-Québec (nickel, gold, zinc).

Energy

Québec has made energy a centrepiece of its development. It is one of the few places in the world with an abundance of clean energy. Québec has earned international recognition for its leadership in electric power generation. Some 97% of the electricity produced in Québec is produced from a renewable source. Hydro-Québec, a government corporation, has seen a steady increase in its electricity exports.

Québec’s expanding expertise and know-how in the area of energy technologies is reflected in its development of hydroelectric projects, wind power, shale gas and bioenergy.

Top of page. 

Exports

Québec enjoys a unique geographical location as a natural gateway to North America. Thanks to the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and the new Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), which facilitate market access, Québec is open to the world more than ever before.

Foreign markets are essential to growth of Québec companies and provide singular business opportunities for, in particular, increasing and diversifying production and creating jobs.

Although the United States is the top destination for Québec exports, European, Asian, African and Latin American markets are of increasing importance to the Québec economy.

Québec has a highly efficient export infrastructure consisting of:

  • the road network
  • marine terminals dotting Québec’s strategic port network
  • rail terminals of the major transcontinental railway companies
  • world-class airports

In addition, initiatives under the Maritime Strategy, such as developing 16 industrial port zones and establishing logistical hubs, will help boost national and international exports.

These initiatives will give firms that set up business in industrial port zones or tap into logistical hubs a definite competitive edge by enhancing integration with global supply chains and thereby attracting investment in Québec and boosting exports.

The signing of the Canada-South Korea Free Trade Agreement will also spawn business opportunities for Québec companies. The Agreement will enable Québec to promote and market its mining resources, which are in high demand in Asia, as well as help consolidate the position of Québec’s pork producers in the large South Korean market.

Top of page. 

Sectors of activity and fields of excellence

Québec is world-renowned for its know-how and creativity. It excels in many industries thanks to the expertise and innovations of its specialized, high-quality workforce.

Québec is a leader in several strategic sectors, including:

  • aerospace
  • life sciences
  • information technologies and communications
  • environment and green technologies
  • aluminum
  • fashion
  • transportation and logistics

It also stands apart in the following niches of excellence:

  • biofood
  • wood-based construction
  • energy
  • environment and green technologies
  • technical textiles and material
  • marine technologies
  • furniture
  • mines and metals
  • tourism
  • land transport
  • technologies
Top of page 

For further information

Top of page.

Économie

 

Voici le contenu dont vous pourrez prendre connaissance dans cette page :

Le produit intérieur brut (PIB) du Québec est de 376 milliards de dollars canadiens. Quant à son PIB par habitant, il est de 45 511 $. Le secteur des services domine, avec plus de 75 % de la production totale de biens et services. De nombreux atouts économiques favorisent la croissance du Québec :

  • l’abondance de ses ressources naturelles;
  • une force hydroélectrique à coûts de production relativement faibles;
  • une situation géographique stratégique;
  • une main-d’œuvre hautement scolarisée et qualifiée;
  • une capacité d’innovation et un dynamisme en recherche et développement se traduisant, entre autres, par l’excellence de ses hautes technologies;
  • des produits exportés partout dans le monde.

De plus, le Québec possède une économie des plus diversifiées, notamment grâce aux nombreux avantages de son territoire. Chacune de ses 17 régions administratives propose une ou des spécialités qui lui sont propres et qui contribuent au rayonnement de l’économie québécoise.

Exploitation des ressources naturelles

Les forêts

Les ressources de la forêt, qu’il s’agisse de la faune, de la flore, de l’eau ou du bois, profitent à tout le Québec. En plus des activités d’aménagement et de récolte associées à la transformation du bois, la forêt permet une foule d’activités récréatives et éducatives, comme la chasse, la pêche et l’observation de la nature.

Les forêts représentent l’un des principaux moteurs de l’économie des régions du Québec. L’industrie forestière, notamment les secteurs de l’exploitation forestière, de la fabrication des produits du bois et de la fabrication du papier, constitue un pilier majeur de l’économie québécoise. Comptant plus de 400 usines de première transformation implantées un peu partout en région, cette industrie génère quelque 80 000 emplois directs en foresterie et en transformation du bois. Plus de 250 municipalités du Québec profitent, de façon importante, des retombées associées aux activités forestières.

Le développement de nouveaux matériaux, dont plusieurs sont écoénergétiques, contribue également à l’excellente réputation de l’industrie de la forêt québécoise.

Les mines

L’abondance de ses mines propulse le Québec en tête des producteurs mondiaux de fer, de zinc, de nickel, d’argent et d’or. La province exploite aussi des minéraux non métalliques, qui comprennent les minéraux industriels et les matériaux de construction. Les minéraux industriels extraits au Québec sont le chrysotile, le graphite, l’ilménite (minerai de titane), le mica, le sel, la silice, le soufre, la stéatite et la tourbe. Les principaux matériaux de construction exploités sont la chaux, le ciment, la pierre, les produits d’argile, ainsi que le sable et le gravier. Ces matériaux sont surtout vendus au Québec.

Les trois principales régions minières sont celles de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue (or, argent, zinc, cuivre), de la Côte-Nord (minerai de fer) et du Nord-du-Québec (nickel, or, zinc).

L’énergie

Le Québec a placé l’énergie au cœur de son développement. Il compte parmi les rares sociétés du monde à disposer d’une énergie propre et abondante. Le leadership du Québec est internationalement reconnu dans le domaine de la production d’électricité. En effet, 97 % de l’électricité produite au Québec est de source renouvelable. Les exportations d’électricité par la société d’État Hydro-Québec sont en croissance constante.

Le Québec a aussi développé une expertise et un savoir-faire dans le domaine des technologies de l’énergie, comme la mise en valeur des projets hydroélectriques, et le développement de l’énergie éolienne, des gaz de schiste et de l’énergie de la biomasse.

Haut de page 

Exportations

Porte d’entrée naturelle du continent nord-américain, le Québec jouit d’une situation géographique unique. Grâce à l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain et au nouvel Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne, qui facilitent l’accès aux marchés, le Québec est plus que jamais ouvert sur le monde.

Les marchés extérieurs sont essentiels à la croissance des entreprises québécoises et offrent des occasions d’affaires privilégiées, permettant notamment d’accroître et de diversifier la production, ainsi que de créer des emplois.

Bien que la majorité des exportations québécoises soit destinée aux États-Unis, les marchés européen, asiatique, africain et latino-américain gagnent en importance pour l’économie du Québec.

Les infrastructures d’exportation québécoises sont très efficaces, qu’il s’agisse :

  • du réseau autoroutier;
  • des terminaux portuaires jalonnant le réseau portuaire stratégique du Québec;
  • des terminaux ferroviaires des grandes compagnies de chemin de fer continentales;
  • des terminaux aéroportuaires de classe mondiale.

Par ailleurs, des initiatives associées à la Stratégie maritime, comme la mise en place de 16 zones industrialo-portuaires ou la création de pôles logistiques, permettront d’augmenter les exportations nationales et internationales.

Ces initiatives représentent un avantage compétitif considérable pour les entreprises qui s’installent dans ces zones ou tirent parti de ces pôles, leur assurant une meilleure intégration aux chaînes d’approvisionnement mondiales : cela a pour effet, entre autres, d’attirer des investissements au Québec et d’accroître les exportations.

La signature de l’Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la Corée du Sud engendrera également des possibilités d’affaires pour les entreprises québécoises.

Cet accord permettra au Québec de mettre à contribution ses ressources minières, qui sont très demandées en Asie. L’accord contribuera aussi à consolider la position des producteurs de porc québécois dans l’important marché sud-coréen.

Haut de page 

Secteurs d’activité et créneaux d’excellence

Le Québec est reconnu mondialement pour son savoir-faire et sa créativité. Il excelle dans de nombreuses industries grâce à l’expertise développée par une main-d’œuvre spécialisée de qualité et aux nombreuses innovations qui en sont le fruit.

Le Québec est un chef de file dans plusieurs secteurs stratégiques, tels que :

  • l’aérospatiale;
  • les sciences de la vie;
  • les technologies de l’information et des communications;
  • l'environnement et les technologies vertes;
  • l’aluminium;
  • la mode;
  • le transport et la logistique.

Il se distingue également dans les créneaux d’excellence suivants

  • le bioalimentaire;
  • la construction en bois;
  • l’énergie;
  • l’environnement et les technologies vertes;
  • les matériaux et les textiles techniques;
  • les technologies marines;
  • les meubles;
  • les mines et les métaux;
  • le tourisme;
  • le transport terrestre;
  • les technologies.
Haut de page 

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page