Regional Portraits

Montérégie (16)

 

Geography and administration

Montérégie is crossed by the Rivière Richelieu. The region is bordered to the east by the Estrie and Centre-du-Québec regions. It runs along the states of Vermont and New York to the south; it is adjacent to Ontario in the west; and it is bordered by Lac des Deux-Montagnes and the Fleuve Saint-Laurent to the north. The region is made up of 15 regional county municipalities (French acronym MRC) and comprises 177 municipalities:

Montérégie also includes two Indian reserves: Akwesasne and Kahnawake.

Longueuil, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Saint-Hyacinthe and Salaberry-de-Valleyfield are among the cities with the largest populations.

For further information

Haut de page 

Agriculture, fisheries and food

The region can be said to be the “bread basket of Québec.” In fact, southern Québec’s high-quality soil and good climate are conducive to producing an abundance and variety of products and foodstuffs.

Montérégie plays a strategic role in a number of traditional areas of production, such as veal, pork, poultry and field crops, as well as in market gardening, fruit growing, and ornamental horticulture. The region ranks first in Québec in terms of poultry, pork and dairy production, as well as in vegetable, apple, wine and greenhouse production. Its high performance in these sectors of activity is an undeniable strength on which the region can continue to build.

Agricultural development is also part of a movement of innovation and diversification of agriculture, focusing both on products and on marketing and production processes. This trend is inspired by new consumer needs and expectations, for it is true that consumers want fresh, value-added products that are good for their health and ready to eat.

For a number of years now, so-called “emerging” trends in production have made their presence known. We are witnessing, among other things, the cultivation of cherries, buckthorn berries, elderberries, and honeyberries. There is also an increase in on-farm alcohol production.

Short marketing circuits and agrotourism represent very promising development and employment opportunities for the region as a whole, given the proximity and number of consumers.

For further information

Haut de page 

Economy and employment

The job market in the Montérégie region is characterized by great diversity. The service sector is the region’s main economic driver, providing over 75% of jobs. Montérégie is also an important player in Québec’s manufacturing sector.

The region plays an important role in the industrial development of Québec by way of its businesses, industrial parks and research centres. The region welcomes world-renowned researchers in the high-tech, energy and metals sectors. Its subsoil is rich in limestone, clay minerals and silica, and a number of mining operations take advantage of these resources.

The manufacturing of microelectronic components and system design for state-of-the-art electronics raise Montérégie’s visibility on the national and international stage.

Manufacturing establishments contribute to regional economic development. Montérégie is home to a great many food processing and transportation equipment manufacturing companies. The region has developed a reputation as a metallurgical centre for the steel industry.

Lastly, hydroelectric production is also a presence in the regional economy in the form of small power stations and two larger scale power plants, including the Beauharnois plant.

For further information

Haut de page 

Tourism, recreation and culture

Being close to the Montréal region has facilitated Montérégie’s cultural development. A number of major artists, such as Paul-Émile Borduas, have lived in the region. The cultural wealth of this scenic spot can be found in many places, including in its historical sites and fortifications, and in the locks built during the 17th and 18th centuries.

Montérégie’s agrotourist enterprises attract consumers' attention with their sugar bushes, orchards, cider houses, and vineyards, where historical interpretation panels tell the personal stories and broader histories of the people and their local products.

The region is also renowned for its extensive network of cycling trails. Montérégie includes national parks and a number of ecological and nature reserves promoting year-round recreational activities, as well as numerous bed and breakfasts.

Concerning outdoor activities, the sky’s the limit! Possibilities include skiing at Mont Saint-Bruno, pleasure boating on the Fleuve Saint-Laurent, the Rivière Richelieu and Lac Champlain, cruises or outings to the Îles de Sorel, and last but not least, a sporting and cultural festival of international importance, the Valleyfield Regatta.

For further information

Haut de page 

​ ​

Portrait des régions

Montérégie (16)

 

Géographie et administration

La Montérégie est traversée par la rivière Richelieu. Cette région est délimitée à l’est par les régions de l’Estrie et du Centre-du-Québec. Elle longe les États du Vermont et de New York au sud, elle est voisine de l’Ontario à l’ouest et elle est bordée par le lac des Deux-Montagnes et le fleuve Saint-Laurent au nord. La région est constituée de 15 municipalités régionales de comté (MRC), comptant 177 municipalités :

La Montérégie comprend aussi deux réserves amérindiennes : Akwesasne et Kahnawake.

Parmi les villes les plus populeuses, on compte Longueuil, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Saint-Hyacinthe et Salaberry-de-Valleyfield.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page 

Agriculture, pêcheries et alimentation

Pour la région, l’expression « Le Garde-manger du Québec » est de mise. De fait, la qualité des sols et le climat favorable du sud du Québec permettent de produire une abondance et une diversité d’aliments et de produits.

La Montérégie occupe une place stratégique dans plusieurs productions traditionnelles, comme le veau, le porc, la volaille et les grandes cultures, ainsi que l’horticulture ornementale, maraîchère et fruitière. La région se classe d’ailleurs au premier rang provincial dans les productions avicoles, porcines et laitières, de même que dans les productions légumières, pomicoles, viticoles et en serre. Sa performance dans ces secteurs constitue une force indéniable sur laquelle bâtir.

Le développement agricole s’inscrit également dans un mouvement d’innovation et de diversification de l’agriculture, visant autant les produits que la mise en marché et les procédés de fabrication. Cette tendance s’inspire des nouveaux besoins et des attentes des consommateurs. Ceux-ci demandent, en effet, des produits frais, à valeur ajoutée, bons pour la santé et prêts à manger.

Depuis quelques années, des productions dites « émergentes » ont fait leur apparition. On assiste, entre autres, à la culture de cerisiers, d’argousiers, de sureaux et de camerisiers. On constate aussi une augmentation de la fabrication d’alcools à la ferme.

La commercialisation en circuit court et l’agrotourisme représentent des avenues de développement et d’occupation de l’ensemble du territoire fort prometteuses, car les consommateurs sont tout près et nombreux.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page 

Économie et emploi

Cette région joue un rôle important dans le développement industriel du Québec par ses entreprises, ses parcs industriels et ses centres de recherche. La Montérégie accueille des chercheurs de réputation mondiale dans les secteurs de la haute technologie, de l’énergie et des métaux. Elle possède un sous-sol riche en calcaire, en minéraux d’argile et en silice, et plusieurs établissements miniers tirent profit de ces ressources.

La fabrication de composants en microélectronique et la conception de systèmes pour l’électronique de pointe font rayonner la Montérégie sur la scène nationale et internationale.

Les établissements manufacturiers contribuent au développement économique régional. La région compte un grand nombre d’entreprises de transformation des aliments et de fabrication de matériel de transport. La Montérégie se présente comme un pôle métallurgique en matière de sidérurgie.

Enfin, la production hydroélectrique est aussi présente dans l’économie régionale grâce à de petites centrales et à deux centrales de plus grande envergure, dont celle de Beauharnois.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page 

Tourisme, loisirs et culture

La proximité de la région de Montréal a facilité le développement culturel de la région de la Montérégie. Plusieurs grands artistes comme Paul-Émile Borduas ont vécu dans cette région. La richesse culturelle de cet endroit pittoresque réside, entre autres, dans les lieux historiques, les fortifications et les écluses érigées au cours des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles.

Les entreprises agrotouristiques de la Montérégie sauront capter l’intérêt des consommateurs avec leurs érablières, leurs vergers, leurs cidreries et leurs vignobles, où des panneaux d’interprétation historique racontent les petites et grandes histoires des gens et de leurs produits du terroir.

La région est également reconnue pour son vaste réseau de pistes cyclables. La Montérégie compte des parcs nationaux et plusieurs réserves écologiques et naturelles favorisant les activités récréatives exercées durant les quatre saisons ainsi que de nombreux gîtes touristiques.

En ce qui concerne les activités de plein air, les possibilités sont nombreuses : du ski au mont Saint-Bruno, de la navigation de plaisance sur les eaux du fleuve Saint-Laurent, de la rivière Richelieu et du lac Champlain, des croisières ou excursions vers les îles de Sorel et, enfin, un festival sportif et culturel d’envergure internationale, les Régates de Valleyfield.

Répertoire des médias régionaux

La liste de tous les médias de la région n’est plus accessible dans Portail Québec. Pour obtenir les coordonnées d’un média en particulier, nous vous suggérons de faire une recherche dans votre moteur de recherche préféré, comme Google.

Par contre, si vous recherchez un média communautaire, vous pouvez visiter le site du ministère de la Culture et des Communications qui publie la Liste des médias communautaires reconnus par le Ministère pour chacune des régions du Québec.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page