Regional Portraits

Nord-du-Québec (10)

 

Geography and administration

The Nord-du-Québec region stretches north to the 49th parallel and covers a little over half the total area of Québec. The region is bordered to the west by Baie James and Baie d'Hudson and, to the north, by Détroit d'Hudson and Baie d'Ungava.The Côte-Nord region lies to its east, as does the border with Newfoundland and Labrador. Nord-du-Québec is bounded to the south by the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean, Mauricie and Abitibi-Témiscamingue regions.​

Nord-du-Québec is Québec’s least populated region. In addition to its Jamésien population, the region includes two Native communities: the Cree and the Inuit. Jamésiens reside in five municipalities and three communities.  Chibougamau is the largest town in Nord-du-Québec. The Inuit live in 14 villages, the best known being Kuujjuaq, while the Cree are concentrated in 9 villages, the largest being Chisasibi.

Nord-du-Québec is made up of towns, Northern villages, Cree villages, and territories reserved for Native peoples. Various administrative management procedures apply to the region’s territories depending on whether they are located north of the 55th parallel (Kativik Regional Administration) or south of the 55th parallel (Administration régionale Baie-James), Cree Nation Government, and Eeyou Istchee-James Bay Regional Government).

For further information

Haut de page 

Agriculture, fisheries and food

Nord-du-Québec has two vegetation zones: the Boreal zone, which includes the boreal forest, the taiga and the tundra, and the Arctic zone, which includes the Low Arctic. This territory is home to exceptional aquatic, marine and terrestrial wildlife, used for sport and for food, especially by the resident Native people who pursue traditional hunting and fishing practices.

The main activities are commercial fishing, seafood processing, and small-fruit cultivation. Blueberries, cranberries and cloudberries are cultivated in the Nord-du-Québec region. Blueberry and cranberry farming is in fact a growth sector in this northern region.

Farming enterprises are becoming increasingly numerous, partly in response to the population’s need for fresh vegetable. Varied production methods include:

  • Permaculture, or sustainable agricultural production
  • Greenhouse cultivation
  • Field cultivation

For further information

Haut de page 

Economy and employment

Nord-du-Québec stands out for its significant hydroelectric, mineral and forest resources. It is currently the region that produces the most electricity in Québec due to its hydroelectric power plants, and the region has begun to develop its substantial wind energy potential as well. The exploitation of mineral and forest resources generates significant economic benefits through the creation of jobs. The region receives the highest level of investment in mineral deposit exploration and development in Québec, and has the most exploration and mining potential. Its forestry industry provides employment in the areas of logging and wood processing, as well as wood processing machinery operation.

The tourist industry also generates work for a number of people and provides an important opening for job-market integration for the region’s Native population.​

The goods and services sector is also participating in the region’s rapid economic growth. It provides jobs especially in the retail and food service areas. The regional economy also benefits from the development of public administrations and health and social assistance services.

For further information

Haut de page 

Tourism, recreation and culture

Nord-du-Québec is made up of three distinct tourist regions to be discovered: Baie-James, Eeyou Istchee and Nunavik. Many and varied outdoor activities are offered each and every season. The region abounds with fish and game, thus attracting hunters and anglers. Nord-du-Québec is home to a great many outfitters and is renowned for caribou hunting expeditions.

Snowmobile trails crisscross the region’s southern sector, linking a number of communities. The region includes the largest natural fresh water lake in Québec, Lac Mistassini and Québec’s highest peak, Mont d'Iberville, located in Nunavik.

Native guides are available to all those looking for an initiation into the traditional Aboriginal way of life, and they can also visit the Oujé-Bougoumou community village, recognized by the United Nations for its planning and development. Oujé-Bougoumou has managed to conserve its traditional and communal way of life.

Other places to visit in the region include the Robert-Bourassa development (the world’s largest underground hydroelectric power station), and the La Grande-1 generating station. It is also possible to visit an historic site, Parc Robert-A.-Boyd, which bears witness to the thousands of workers who resided in Radisson, from 1950 to the year 2000, in order to build dams there.

For further information

Haut de page 
​​​​​​​​​​

Portrait des régions

Nord-du-Québec (10)

 

Géographie et administration

La région du Nord-du-Québec s’étend au nord du 49e parallèle et couvre un peu plus de la moitié de la superficie totale du Québec. À l’ouest, elle est bornée par la baie James et la baie d’Hudson, et, au nord, par le détroit d’Hudson et la baie d’Ungava. À l’est se trouvent la région de la Côte-Nord et une frontière avec Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Au sud, le Nord-du-Québec est délimité par les régions du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean, de la Mauricie et de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue.

Le Nord-du-Québec est la région la moins peuplée du Québec. Parmi sa population se trouvent deux communautés autochtones : les Cris et les Inuits, ainsi que les Jamésiens. Les Jamésiens habitent dans cinq municipalités et trois localités.  Chibougamau est la ville la plus importante du Nord-du-Québec. Les Inuits vivent dans 14 villages, le plus connu étant Kuujjuaq. Les Cris, quant à eux, se concentrent dans neuf villages, le plus important étant Chisasibi.

Le Nord-du-Québec est constitué de villes, de villages nordiques, de villages cris et de terres réservées aux autochtones. Différentes modalités de gestion administrative s’appliquent aux territoires de la région selon qu’ils sont situés au nord du 55e parallèle (Administration régionale Kativik) ou au sud (Administration régionale Baie-James, Gouvernement de la nation crie et Gouvernement régional d’Eeyou Istchee Baie-James).

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page 

Agriculture, pêcheries et alimentation

Le Nord-du-Québec est partagé en deux zones de végétation, soit la zone boréale, qui comprend la forêt boréale continue, la taïga et la toundra, et la zone arctique, qui comprend le Bas-Arctique. Sur ce territoire vit une faune aquatique, marine et terrestre exceptionnelle, exploitée pour le sport comme pour l’alimentation, notamment par les autochtones qui y habitent et pratiquent des activités traditionnelles de chasse et de pêche.

Les principales activités y sont la pêche commerciale, la transformation de produits marins et la culture des petits fruits. Bleuets, canneberges et chicoutés sont cultivés dans le Nord-du-Québec. Le secteur des bleuetières et des cannebergières est d’ailleurs en croissance dans cette région nordique.

Les entreprises agricoles sont de plus en plus nombreuses. Leur présence accrue répond en partie aux besoins en légumes frais de la population. Leurs méthodes de production sont variées :

  • Permaculture, ou production agricole durable;
  • Culture en serre;
  • Culture en champs.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page 

Économie et emploi

Le Nord-du-Québec se distingue par ses importantes ressources hydroélectriques, minières et forestières. C’est la région du Québec qui produit actuellement le plus d’électricité grâce à ses centrales hydroélectriques et elle présente un fort potentiel éolien, qu’elle a commencé à développer. L’exploitation des ressources minières et forestières engendre des retombées économiques non négligeables par la création d’emplois. L’industrie forestière procure de la main-d’œuvre, plus particulièrement en exploitation forestière, dans le secteur de la transformation du bois ainsi que dans l’opération de la machinerie requise pour cette transformation.

L’industrie du tourisme génère également des emplois pour plusieurs personnes. De plus, elle fournit une grande possibilité d’intégration de la population autochtone au marché du travail.

Le secteur des biens et services participe également à l’essor économique du Nord-du-Québec. Il procure des emplois surtout dans le commerce de détail et la restauration. L’économie régionale profite aussi du développement des administrations publiques et des services de santé et d’assistance sociale.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page 

Tourisme, loisirs et culture

Le Nord-du-Québec se compose de trois régions touristiques distinctes à découvrir : la Baie-James, Eeyou Istchee et le Nunavik. Chaque saison, des activités de plein air nombreuses et variées sont offertes. La région regorge de poissons et de gibier, ce qui attire les amateurs de pêche et de chasse. Le Nord-du-Québec offre de nombreuses pourvoiries et est reconnu pour les expéditions de chasse au caribou.

Des sentiers de motoneige sillonnent le secteur sud du territoire et relient plusieurs localités. Cette région compte le plus grand lac naturel d’eau douce au Québec, soit le lac Mistissini, et le plus haut sommet du Québec, le mont Iberville, situé au Nunavik.

Les personnes qui désirent s’initier au mode de vie traditionnel des autochtones peuvent le faire grâce à des guides autochtones. Il leur est aussi possible de visiter le village de la communauté d'Oujé-Bougoumou, reconnu par l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour son aménagement. Cette communauté a conservé son mode de vie traditionnel et communautaire.

Parmi les autres lieux à visiter dans la région, il y a l’aménagement Robert-Bourassa, la plus grande centrale hydroélectrique souterraine du monde, et la centrale La Grande-1. Il est possible également de visiter un site historique, le parc Robert-A.-Boyd, qui témoigne de la présence des dizaines de milliers de travailleurs qui ont séjourné dans la localité de Radisson, de 1950 à l’an 2000, pour y construire des barrages.

Répertoire des médias régionaux

La liste de tous les médias de la région n’est plus accessible dans Portail Québec. Pour obtenir les coordonnées d’un média en particulier, nous vous suggérons de faire une recherche dans votre moteur de recherche préféré, comme Google.

Par contre, si vous recherchez un média communautaire, vous pouvez visiter le site du ministère de la Culture et des Communications qui publie la Liste des médias communautaires reconnus par le Ministère pour chacune des régions du Québec.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page 
​​​​​​