Regional Portraits

Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean (02)

 

Geography and administration

Located on the north shore of the Fleuve Saint-Laurent, the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region extends from north of Lac Saint-Jean to the mouth of the Fjord de la rivière Saguenay. It is bordered to the northeast by Côte-Nord, to the northwest by Nord-du-Québec, to the southwest by Mauricie, and to the southeast by Capitale-Nationale.

Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean has 49 municipalities and 11 other types of territories. Most are grouped into 4 regional county municipalities (French acronym MRC):

The region has one Indian reserve, Mashteuiatsh, where an Innu First Nation community resides.

Saguenay (city) is not part of an MRC. However, its administration exercises certain powers normally assigned to an MRC. It is the region’s most populous city. Alma, Roberval, Saint-Félicien and Dolbeau-Mistassini are also important municipalities in the region.

For further information

Haut de page 

Agriculture, fisheries and food

Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean’s geographical features and cool climate foster a distinct agriculture associated with its nordicity.

In addition, it is the region that produces the most lowbush blueberries, oats, canola and seed potatoes in Québec. There are also dozens of certified organic companies located there.

Almost half of the farming enterprises of Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean specialize in animal production. Their activities are concentrated primarily in dairy, beef and sheep production.

With regard to crop production, fruit production is of significant importance. In fact, nearly 400 companies produce blueberries each and every year. The region also stands out for its honeyberry producers.

The food processing industry is a sector with great development potential, characterized, in particular, by the freezing, cheese, and cured-meat processing plants established in the region. The region also benefits from a network of farm stands and from agrotourism.

For further information


Haut de page 

Economy and employment

Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean’s economic development focuses on the exploitation of natural resources. The resulting regional economic structure has favoured the establishment of large companies. These companies rely on a competent and qualified workforce and operate in a dynamic environment which is abreast of new technologies. The important economic sectors include:

  • logging and wood product manufacturing
  • primary metal manufacturing (aluminium)
  • hydroelectricity
  • metal product manufacturing
  • construction and engineering

During the past 30 years, the economy of Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean has faced many upheavals, which have affected, in particular, the forestry industry, the aluminum industry, and the manufacturing sector, while several areas stand out for their excellence or innovation, including:

  • northern agriculture, focused around wild blueberries and seed potatoes​
  • aluminum processing
  • ecotourism
  • adventure tourism
The city of Saguenay, home to nearly half of the region’s businesses, is a relatively diversified commercial and services centre. In Lac-Saint-Jean, four economic hubs offer services locally to the surrounding agro-forestal municipalities of Alma, Roberval, Saint-Félicien, and Dolbeau-Mistassini.

For further information


Haut de page 

Tourism, recreation and culture

Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean offers a large number of tourist attractions. One of the best known, Lac Saint-Jean, welcomes numerous lovers of water sports every year. Surrounded by white sand beaches and campgrounds where numerous outdoor activities unfold, the lake delights Saguenay residents and tourists alike.

At the mouth of the Rivière Saguenay, it is also possible to watch belugas and whales, as it is from a viewing platform overlooking the mouth of Baie Sainte-Marguerite. Watching cruises are available during the tourist season.

A number of festivals and events enliven the region, including the Traversée internationale du lac Saint-Jean (cross-lake swimming) competition and the La fabuleuse histoire d’un royaume (historical theatre) show.

Cultural tourism is a regional development tool for a number of artisans, artists and organizations. It contributes to Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean’s cultural vitality. The region stands out for its network of cultural sites, especially due to its public libraries and museums.

In addition to its many events and typical and authentic attractions, the region is also renowned for its agri-food products. Various tourist routes offer an experience at the heart of this world of regional flavours, combining gourmet tourism and the great outdoors.

For further information

Haut de page

Portrait des régions

Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean (02)

 

Géographie et administration

Située sur la rive nord du fleuve Saint-Laurent, la région du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean s’étend du nord du lac Saint-Jean à l’embouchure du fjord de la rivière Saguenay. Elle est bornée au nord-est par la Côte-Nord, au nord-ouest par le Nord-du-Québec, au sud-ouest par la Mauricie et au sud-est par la Capitale-Nationale.

Le Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean compte 49 municipalités et 11 autres types de territoires. La plupart sont regroupés en quatre municipalités régionales de comté (MRC) :

La région compte une réserve indienne, Mashteuiatsh, où réside une communauté autochtone innue.

La ville de Saguenay n’est pas comprise dans une MRC. Toutefois, son administration exerce certaines compétences habituellement dévolues à une MRC. C’est la ville la plus peuplée de la région. Alma, Roberval, Saint-Félicien et Dolbeau-Mistassini sont aussi des villes importantes de la région.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page 

Agriculture, pêcheries et alimentation

Les caractéristiques géographiques et le climat frais du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean favorisent une agriculture distincte associée à la nordicité.

En outre, c’est la région où l’on produit le plus d’avoine, de canola et de pommes de terre de semence au Québec. On y compte également plusieurs dizaines d’entreprises certifiées biologiques.

Près de la moitié des entreprises agricoles du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean se spécialise en production animale. Leurs activités se concentrent principalement dans les productions laitière, bovine et ovine.

En ce qui a trait aux productions végétales, la production fruitière occupe une place importante. En effet, près de 400 entreprises produisent des bleuets annuellement. La région se démarque également avec ses producteurs de camerises.

L’industrie de la transformation alimentaire est un secteur à fort potentiel de développement, qui est notamment caractérisé par la présence d’usines de congélation, de fromageries et de charcuteries. La région tire aussi profit d’un réseau de kiosques à la ferme et de l’agrotourisme.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page 

Économie et emploi

Le développement économique du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean est axé sur l’exploitation des ressources naturelles. La structure économique régionale qui en découle a favorisé l’implantation de grandes entreprises. Ces entreprises s’appuient sur une main-d’œuvre compétente et qualifiée et évoluent dans un milieu dynamique et à l’affût des nouvelles technologies. Parmi les secteurs économiques d’importance, on note :

  • l’exploitation forestière et la transformation des produits du bois;
  • la première transformation des métaux (aluminium);
  • l’hydroélectricité;
  • la fabrication de produits métalliques;
  • la construction et l’ingénierie.

Au cours des 30 dernières années, l’économie du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean a fait face à plusieurs bouleversements qui ont affecté notamment l’industrie forestière, l’industrie de l’aluminium et le secteur manufacturier. Par ailleurs, plusieurs domaines se démarquent par l’excellence ou l’innovation, par exemple :

  • l’agriculture nordique;
  • la transformation de l’aluminium;
  • l’écotourisme;
  • le tourisme d’aventure.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page 

Tourisme, loisirs et culture

Le Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean offre un grand nombre d’attraits touristiques. L’un des plus connus, le lac Saint-Jean, accueille chaque année de nombreux amateurs d’activités nautiques. Entouré de plages de sable blanc et de terrains de camping où ont lieu quantité d’activités de plein air, il fait la joie des Saguenéens et des touristes.

À l’embouchure de la rivière Saguenay, il est également possible d’observer des bélugas et des baleines, tout comme à partir d’un belvédère surplombant l’embouchure de la baie Sainte-Marguerite. Des croisières d’observation sont offertes durant la saison touristique.

Plusieurs festivals et événements animent la région, entre autres, la compétition la Traversée internationale du lac Saint-Jean et le spectacle La fabuleuse histoire d’un royaume.

Le tourisme culturel est un levier de développement régional pour plusieurs artisans, artistes et organismes. Il contribue à la vitalité culturelle du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean. La région se démarque par son réseau de lieux culturels, notamment grâce à ses bibliothèques publiques et à ses musées.

En plus de regorger d’événements et d’attraits typiques et authentiques, la région se distingue par ses produits agroalimentaires. Divers circuits proposent une expérience au cœur des saveurs régionales, alliant plein air et tourisme gourmand.

Répertoire des médias régionaux

La liste de tous les médias de la région n’est plus accessible dans Portail Québec. Pour obtenir les coordonnées d’un média en particulier, nous vous suggérons de faire une recherche dans votre moteur de recherche préféré, comme Google.

Par contre, si vous recherchez un média communautaire, vous pouvez visiter le site du ministère de la Culture et des Communications qui publie la Liste des médias communautaires reconnus par le Ministère pour chacune des régions du Québec.

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page