Political System

 

This page contains information on the following topics:

Québec’s political system is based on three separate powers known as the legislative power (legislature), the executive power (government), and the judicial power (courts).

Québec is part of Canada, a federation of 10 provinces and 3 territories. This means that the authority to make laws is divided between the Parliament of Canada and the provincial legislatures.

The Québec legislature can make laws in matters of provincial jurisdiction assigned under the Canadian Constitution. Essentially, the Constitution assigns

  • to the federal government, responsibility for matters of a general or national interest
  • to the provincial governments, responsibility for matters of provincial or local significance

Certain areas of jurisdiction are shared by both levels of government.

Quebecers elect the provincial and federal candidates who will make decisions on their behalf. This is known as representative democracy.

In Québec, the Election Act sets out the rules for holding general elections or by-elections and the Chief Electoral Officer administers voting.

Legislative power

The legislative power is exercised at the National Assembly. Laws are passed or amended during public parliamentary sessions.

National Assembly

Established by the Constitutional Act of 1791, Québec’s parliamentary system is based on the British model. Parliament examines the bills submitted by the government and either accepts or rejects them. It also oversees the government's application of laws and supervises all government activities.

The National Assembly is composed of 125 members elected by the people in each of Québec’s electoral divisions. Members represent the electors of their electoral division, debate questions of public interest and exercise their roles as legislators and overseers. The National Assembly sits in the Parliament Building, located in the provincial capital, Québec.

Together with the Lieutenant Governor, the National Assembly forms the Parliament of Québec. Appointed by the Queen on the federal government’s recommendation, the Lieutenant Governor is the Queen's representative in each of the Canadian provinces. In Québec, it is customary to consult the Premier on the appointment of the Lieutenant Governor.

The business, discussions and debates of the National Assembly and parliamentary committees are known collectively as parliamentary proceedings. Parliamentary procedure determines the rules that govern the National Assembly, its Members, and the government’s interaction with the Assembly.

Top of page 

Executive power

Enforcing laws is the responsibility of the executive power, also called the government. The executive power is exercised by the Premier and by the ministers he or she selects from among the elected members of his or her party. Together, they form the Conseil exécutif, also known as the Conseil des ministres, or cabinet. As the government’s chief decision-making body, the Conseil des ministres is responsible for:

  • the administration of government
  • determination of the orientation of the government’s activity
  • the application of laws
  • the adoption of regulations under acts
  • the administration of the State

Together with the Lieutenant Governor, the Conseil exécutif forms the government of Québec.

The Premier

The Premier is the central figure in Québec’s political system. His or her powers and responsibilities are determined by convention.

The Premier is the head of government. Under the principle of ministerial responsibility, the Premier and all of his or her ministers must be or become a Member of the National Assembly. The Premier is accountable to the National Assembly.

To form a government, the Premier must have the support of a majority of elected members of the National Assembly. Accordingly, the leader of the political party that wins the most seats in a general election normally becomes the Premier. The Premier, in turn, selects the members who will form the cabinet (ministers) and holds power for as long as he or she retains the confidence of a majority of members of the National Assembly within his or her four-year mandate.

Top of page 

Judicial power

The judicial power is exercised by the courts, which interpret the law. Judges are appointed by the Québec government (Court of Québec) and the federal government (Superior Court, Court of Appeal). The Supreme Court is the highest court in Canada and is composed of nine judges appointed by the federal government, three of whom must be from Québec.

For further information, visit the Justice page.

Top of page 

Shared areas of federal-provincial jurisdiction

Québec is one of ten partners in the Canadian federation, of which the central government is located in Ottawa.

The Constitutional Act of 1867 gives the federal government responsibility for matters that concern all Canadians, in particular:

  • defence
  • foreign affairs
  • regulation of interprovincial and international trade and commerce
  • criminal law
  • citizenship
  • central banking
  • monetary policy
  • fisheries
  • transportation (aviation, marine transport, and rail)

Provincial governments have jurisdiction in matters of local interest and local well-being, including:

  • education
  • health and social services
  • natural resources
  • property and civil rights
  • provincial and municipal courts
  • local institutions (municipal)
  • transportation (provincial highways, vehicle registration, and driver licensing)

In addition to transportation, other areas of responsibility are shared by both levels of government, such as control over agriculture, immigration and certain aspects of natural resource management.

However, if federal and provincial laws in these areas conflict, the federal law prevails.

Top of page 

Electoral system

Québec is a democratic society. The citizens of Québec have the power and responsibility of choosing the people who will represent and govern them. In addition to federal elections, representative democracy is exercised at the provincial, municipal, and school board levels.

To elect the provincial government, general elections are held in Québec on a fixed date every four years. The purpose is to elect one member for each of the 125 electoral divisions of Québec, whose electors will thus be represented in the National Assembly.

In each electoral division, the elector votes for the candidate of his or her choice under a first-past-the-post voting system. All Canadian citizens aged 18 or over who have been living in Québec for at least six months have the right to vote.

The party that has the highest number of elected members takes power and forms the government. Its leader becomes Premier of Québec. All the other members form the opposition. The party that has the second highest number of elected members, after the party in power, becomes the Official Opposition. Its leader becomes Leader of the Opposition. The party that comes third in terms of the number of members becomes the second opposition. The leader of this party becomes the leader of the second opposition group.

The Act to govern the financing of political parties prohibits corporate entities, whether public or private, from contributing to the financing of political parties and imposes a ceiling on individual contributions.

To find out the composition of the National Assembly and the number of members for each party, visit the Members page of the National Assembly website.

Top of page 

For further information

Top of page

Système politique

 

Voici le contenu dont vous pourrez prendre connaissance dans cette page :

Le système politique québécois est basé sur l’exercice de trois pouvoirs distincts : le pouvoir législatif (le Parlement), le pouvoir exécutif (le gouvernement) et le pouvoir judiciaire (les tribunaux).

Le Québec fait partie du Canada, une fédération de 10 provinces et 3 territoires. Cela signifie que l’autorité de promulguer des lois est divisée entre le Parlement du Canada et les assemblées législatives provinciales.

Le Parlement du Québec peut édicter des lois dans le respect des compétences qui lui sont accordées par la Constitution canadienne. Essentiellement, celle-ci attribue :

  • au gouvernement fédéral la responsabilité des dossiers qui concernent certains sujets généraux ou d’intérêt national;
  • aux gouvernements provinciaux la responsabilité des dossiers d’intérêt provincial ou local.

Pour certains secteurs, la compétence relève des deux ordres de gouvernement.

Les Québécois et Québécoises élisent les candidats et candidates de leur choix, aux paliers provincial et fédéral, afin qu’ils prennent des décisions en leur nom. C’est la démocratie représentative.

Au Québec, la Loi électorale détermine les règles à suivre au moment de la tenue d’élections générales ou partielles, et c’est le directeur général ou la directrice générale des élections qui administre les scrutins.

Pouvoir législatif

Le pouvoir législatif s'exerce à l’Assemblée nationale. Il a pour fonction de promulguer les lois qui sont adoptées ou modifiées pendant les sessions parlementaires publiques.

L’Assemblée nationale

Mis en place par l’Acte constitutionnel de 1791, le régime parlementaire du Québec est d’origine britannique. Le Parlement étudie les projets de loi que le gouvernement lui soumet et les adopte ou les rejette. Il surveille aussi l’application des lois par le gouvernement et exerce un contrôle sur l’ensemble des activités gouvernementales.

L’Assemblée nationale est composée des 125 députés et députées élus par la population dans chacune des circonscriptions du Québec. Les députés et députées représentent les électeurs et électrices de leur circonscription, débattent des questions d’intérêt public, et exercent leurs rôles de législateur et de contrôleur. L’Assemblée nationale siège à l’hôtel du Parlement, dans la capitale, Québec.

L’Assemblée nationale et le lieutenant-gouverneur ou la lieutenante-gouverneure forment le Parlement du Québec. Le lieutenant-gouverneur ou la lieutenante-gouverneure est la personne qui représente la couronne dans chacune des provinces canadiennes. Cette personne est nommée par la reine, sur avis du gouvernement fédéral, et il est d’usage au Québec que le premier ou la première ministre soit consulté au sujet de cette nomination.

On appelle travaux parlementaires les travaux, échanges et débats de l’Assemblée nationale et des commissions parlementaires. La procédure parlementaire établit les règles applicables à l’Assemblée nationale, à ses membres (les députés et députées) et au gouvernement dans ses rapports avec l’Assemblée.

Haut de page 

Pouvoir exécutif

L’application des lois relève du pouvoir exécutif, aussi appelé le gouvernement. Ce gouvernement est exercé par le premier ou la première ministre et les ministres qu’il ou qu’elle a choisis parmi les députés et députées de son parti. Ils constituent le Conseil exécutif, ou Conseil des ministres. Principal organe décisionnel du gouvernement, le Conseil exécutif est chargé :

  • de la direction du gouvernement;
  • de la définition des orientations de l’activité gouvernementale;
  • de la mise en application des lois;
  • de l’adoption des règlements qui découlent des lois;
  • de l’administration de l’État.

Le Conseil exécutif, ou Conseil des ministres, constitue, avec le lieutenant-gouverneur ou la lieutenante-gouverneure, le gouvernement du Québec.

Le premier ou la première ministre

Le premier ou la première ministre est le personnage central de la vie politique dans notre régime parlementaire. Ses pouvoirs et ses responsabilités sont fixés par convention.

Le premier ou la première ministre est le chef du gouvernement. En vertu du principe de la responsabilité ministérielle, le premier ou la première ministre, comme tous ses ministres, doit aussi être membre de l’Assemblée nationale, ou le devenir. Il ou elle est responsable devant celle-ci.

Pour former un gouvernement, le premier ou la première ministre doit disposer de l’appui d’une majorité d’élus et d’élues à l’Assemblée nationale. Ainsi, le chef ou la chef du parti politique qui remporte le plus grand nombre de sièges aux élections générales devient normalement premier ou première ministre. Cette personne choisit à son tour, parmi les députés et députées, les membres du Conseil exécutif (les ministres) et elle exerce le pouvoir tant que la majorité des membres de l’Assemblée nationale lui accorde son appui à l’intérieur d’un mandat de quatre ans.

Haut de page 

Pouvoir judiciaire

Le pouvoir judiciaire est exercé par les tribunaux, qui interprètent les lois. Les juges sont nommés par le gouvernement du Québec (Cour du Québec) et le gouvernement fédéral (Cour supérieure, Cour d’appel). Quant à la Cour suprême, elle constitue le plus haut tribunal du Canada. Elle se compose de neuf juges nommés par le gouvernement fédéral, dont trois doivent venir du Québec.

Pour plus de détails, consultez la rubrique Justice.

Haut de page 

Partage des compétences fédérales-provinciales

Le Québec est l’un des 10 partenaires de la fédération canadienne, dont le gouvernement central est à Ottawa.

La Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 accorde au gouvernement fédéral la responsabilité des dossiers qui concernent l’ensemble de la population canadienne, notamment en ce qui a trait :

  • à la défense;
  • aux affaires étrangères;
  • à la réglementation des échanges et du commerce entre les provinces et avec les autres pays;
  • au droit pénal;
  • à la citoyenneté;
  • à la banque centrale;
  • à la politique monétaire;
  • aux pêcheries;
  • au transport (aviation, transport maritime et ferroviaire).

Les compétences des gouvernements provinciaux portent sur des dossiers d’intérêt local, entre autres :

  • l’éducation;
  • la santé et les services sociaux;
  • les ressources naturelles;
  • le droit de propriété et les droits civils;
  • les cours provinciales et municipales;
  • les institutions locales (municipales);
  • les transports (routes provinciales, immatriculation des véhicules et octroi des permis de conduire).

En plus du transport, certains secteurs relèvent des deux ordres de gouvernement. Par exemple, le contrôle de l’agriculture, de l’immigration et de certains aspects de la gestion des ressources naturelles est partagé entre les deux ordres de gouvernement.

Cependant, en cas de conflit entre les lois fédérales et provinciales dans ces domaines, la loi fédérale prévaut.

Haut de page 

Système électoral

Le Québec est une société démocratique. Les Québécois et Québécoises ont le pouvoir et la responsabilité de choisir les personnes qui les représentent et qui les gouvernent. Outre les élections fédérales, la démocratie représentative s’exerce à trois niveaux : provincial, municipal et scolaire.

Pour élire le gouvernement provincial, des élections générales ont lieu au Québec à date fixe tous les quatre ans. Ce scrutin a pour objectif de faire élire un député ou une députée dans chacune des 125 circonscriptions du Québec, afin de représenter les électeurs et électrices à l’Assemblée nationale.

Dans chacune des circonscriptions, l’électeur ou l’électrice vote pour le candidat ou la candidate de son choix, selon un mode de scrutin dit « majoritaire uninominal à un tour ». Tous les citoyens et citoyennes canadiens âgés de 18 ans ou plus et domiciliés au Québec depuis au moins six mois ont le droit de vote.

Le parti qui fait élire le plus de députés et députées obtient le pouvoir et forme le gouvernement. Le ou la chef de ce parti devient le premier ou la première ministre. Tous les autres députés et députées forment l’opposition. Le parti qui a fait élire le deuxième plus grand nombre de députés et députées représente l’opposition officielle. Le ou la chef de ce parti devient chef de l’opposition officielle. Le parti qui se classe troisième quant au nombre de députés et députées forme la deuxième opposition. Le ou la chef de ce parti devient chef du deuxième groupe d’opposition.

La Loi régissant le financement des partis politiques interdit aux personnes morales (sociétés publiques ou privées) de contribuer au financement des partis politiques et impose une limite maximale à la contribution des citoyens et citoyennes.

Pour connaître la composition de l’Assemblée nationale et le nombre de députés et députées élus pour chaque parti politique, on peut consulter le site de l’Assemblée nationale.

Haut de page 

Pour en savoir plus

Haut de page