Québec.

Climate

Québec’s cold and humid climate is due to its nordic and maritime position. With such a huge land mass the province of Québec regions show wide temperature and precipitation variations, with relation to their latitude, relief and maritime influence. Québec has four types of climate.

Humid Continental Climate

Humid Continental climate in the province is located south of 50e N latitude. This climatic region is characterized by a hot and slightly humid summer, sometimes severely cold, and rather long winters. The thermal amplitude (difference between the highs and lows) of this climate is approximately 30°C (68°F). Precipitation is important all year long exceeding 900 mm per year. This zone is dominated by hardwood and mixed stands. 

Subarctic Climate

Subarctic climate, between the 50th and 58th parallels, consists of colder, longer winters and shorter, cooler summers.  Precipitation is scarce. Annual average temperatures over Chapais and Natashquan nears freezing point. The regions of this climate are covered by taiga, dominated by open softwood forests on a lichen mat.

Arctic Climate

The extreme northern portion of the territory is subject to the rigours of the Arctic climate characterized by a very cold and dry winter, and a short thaw season. In Kuujjuaq, the mean duration of frost-free period is 115 days per year. Low precipitation observed amounts barely to 530 mm per year. It is the lowest in the province. The Arctic climate corresponds to the areas covered by tundra, a combination of stands of variable density, and tundra, characterized mainly by shrubs and lichens.

East Maritime Climate

East Maritime climate is found at the Îles-de-la-Madeleine. This climate features long but relatively cool winters and short, warm and rainy summers.

Sources

Québec.

Climat

Le climat froid et humide du Québec est grandement déterminé par sa position nordique et maritime. Ce climat, sur un territoire aussi vaste que celui du Québec, est caractérisé par des écarts importants de températures et des précipitations dans les diverses régions, en fonction de la latitude, du relief et de l'influence maritime. Il existe quatre types de climat au Québec.

Climat continental humide

Le climat continental humide, localisé au sud du 50e degré, est caractérisé par un été chaud et légèrement humide ainsi qu’un hiver froid et plutôt long. L’amplitude thermique (différence entre les hautes et basses températures) de ce climat est approximativement de 30º C. Les précipitations sont importantes tout au long de l’année. Elles dépassent généralement 900 mm par année. Cette zone est dominée par des peuplements d'arbres feuillus et mélangés.

Climat subarctique

Le climat subarctique, situé entre les 50e et 58e degrés, se compose d’un hiver très froid et long et d’un été court et frais. Les précipitations sont peu abondantes. Les températures moyennes annuelles de Chapais et de Natashquan se situent près du point de congélation. Les régions de ce climat sont couvertes de taïga, où dominent des forêts de conifères ouvertes sur un tapis de lichens.

Climat arctique

Le climat arctique, présent à l’extrême nord, est défini par un hiver rigoureux, très froid et sec et une courte saison de dégel. À Kuujjuaq, la période sans gel est de 115 jours par année. Les précipitations faibles enregistrées, qui n’atteignent pas 530 mm par année, demeurent les moins élevées au Québec. Cette zone est caractérisée par la toundra forestière, mosaïque de peuplements de densité variable, et de toundra où l'on voit surtout des arbustes et des lichens.

Climat maritime de l’Est

Le climat maritime de l’Est se trouve aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine. L’hiver est assez long, mais relativement doux, et l’été est court, chaud et pluvieux.

Sources